Home > News I Find Interesting, video games > Playstation 3 is your best bet.

Playstation 3 is your best bet.

To start, I’m not a Sony fanboy. I try to use other brands if I can. I just did a quick mental inventory of my electronics, and interestingly enough, I don’t own any Sony products except for my PS3 and my little 21″ trinitron tv. Sony products are typically overpriced, not all the time best quality. That being said, I do however, recommend that you get a Playstation 3, if you intend to get a Blu Ray player.

You may recall that HD-DVD lost the format wars. Obviously, the only thing left is to buy a Blu Ray player. But The problem with Blu Ray players is that they don’t have some of the neat features that HD DVD had, such as picture in picture among other things. Of course, these features would be introduced with newer Blu Ray players, and players that support firmware updates.

Unfortunately, the current market is lacking in that.

Sony will be releasing a Blu Ray player that has an ethernet jack for firmware updates, but interestingly, the firmware that comes with the player, doesn’t have ethernet turned on. You’ll have to wait for a Blu Ray disc that has the ethernet firmware on it. The current Blu Ray player they are offering doesn’t have firmware update support, or ethernet, making it effectively dead in the water. It’s also expensive.

Sony’s latest Blu-Ray player, at a thousand bucks.

Most people would wait it out. But for early adopters, the best choice at this point in time would be to buy a Playstation 3. The cool thing is that the Playstation 3 already has firmware updates, so when a new feature gets added to Blu Ray functionality, you can rest assured that your system is future-proof. At $400, it’s a pretty darn good deal for a Blu Ray player, and a game console. Not to mention, with the PSP gaining momentum, history will most likely repeat itself, as we see Wii and DS sales continue to drop.

In a recent survey conducted by Warner Home Video (WHV), it was noted that Sony PlayStation 3 owners are using their consoles more and more as Blu-ray players. Figures taken from the 2007 Holiday season to early 2008 reflect a rise in viewership and usage of the next-gen format.

These are some of the more significant data taken from the research:

  • PS3 households spent around 15 percent of the time they devoted to using their PS3s watching BD movies in 2007’s last quarter. This rose to 23 percent in January and February of 2008.
  • The proportion of US PS3 households using the PS3 as a BD player is up from 53 percent to 80 percent in the same period of time.
  • In the course of Sony’s campaign to encourage people to watch BD movies on their PS3s, the number of PS3 households buying BD movies rose from 10 percent to 15 percent.

With the growing installed base and more people becoming aware of what their PS3 systems can do, there’s really little surprise over these figures. And of course, the best reason to get a Playstation3? Darth Vader, of course. Join the dark side!!!

  1. shino
    May 2, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    No PS3 in the works yet for me since the library is sadly lacking and add to that the fact that I don’t have a nice TV to complement it, it’s gonna just end up being a study for how dust collects on shiny objects. Never was big on watching movies on the TV anyway somehow and whatever DVDs I buy, I watch them on the PC anyways ^^

    And your best reason to own a PS3? Doesn’t work for me, I have a Vader PSP! w00t! :p And I’m crap at fighting games ^^;

  2. May 3, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I loved the PS2 and I only bought my PS2 about one year ago and the only reason for it was Final Fantasy X. I’ll be getting the PS3 thats for sure and only when Final Fantasy XIII comes out.

    One thing someone very dear to me said once, when the equipment is heavy it means its good, we can see that by the latest sound receivers/amplifiers which are really heavy, so I compare the PS3 to the 360 in that way. I’m not saying that the 360 sucks but it’s hardware it’s not really good with so many consoles going back with the famous ring of death, Microsoft should had invested a little bit in the product quality instead of launching it so early.

  3. May 5, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Microsoft’s japanese concession is a bit interesting. They knew being too big was a problem for japan last time, so they shrunk down the system.

    Of course, what they really just did was move most of the weight into biggest power brick in consumer electronics, and then leave insufficient cooling for the core system.

    Sony just made it a) look cool and b) work reliably.

    Couldn’t care less about surveys and things but I agree with shino and Belela-san that it’s basically about buying when the software you want is out there. If you want blu-ray, buy now. If you don’t have an HDTV? Might want to wait.

  4. May 6, 2008 at 11:02 am

    @ shino : you’re right – if you’re not gonna watch Blu-Ray movies, there isn’t much point for you to get a PS3 (except for Tears to Tiara). There aren’t a whole lot of good anime-style games for your tastes on the PS3, if any at all.

    @ Belela-San : Good on ya to buy a PS2! At this point in time, it’s a very good deal too. And with a new PS2, chances are, you won’t have to buy the more expensive 80gb PS3 later as well! I have been playing FFXII for about a month now, and so far, I like the battle system more than the traditional one from FFX. Overall though, I like the story from FFX-2 the most, simply because it’s the most light-hearted one in the past decade. You might want to give that one a try if you like the battle system of FFX.

    I agree with you on the Xbox 360 thing. RRoD is bad news. I don’t think there is a single 360 owner out there that has his own original system anymore. lol!

    @ Crazymoogle : It’s weird though, the Xbox360 doesn’t exactly look small, especially when you compare it to the original Xbox or PS2. I’m glad that Microsoft addressed the cooling issues in the Elite, but it’s too little too late. I don’t think the hardware issues really affect their sales all that much though – I think there’s a lot of “It won’t happen to me.” mentality there too.

    Dude, you sound like a Sony fanboy with that statement, but it is definitely the truth!

    I would have to say that I got my PS3 “at the right time” because there are just the right number of games to hold me over until the next batch of PS3 games come out. I have a nice boatload going, but have only finished one so far. But I know what you mean – I’m playing PS2 games on my PS3 for godssakes (but at a nice smooth and upscaled 1080p as opposed to a crappy 480i)

  5. Kin
    May 6, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I recently just got a PS3 myself (more if an impulse purchase than anything) because it was cheap. No tax day at superstore and it came with a free game of my choice. Now that I own all three of the new consoles, I have to say each has their own uses. I do like the security that my PS3 won’t RRoD on me that my 360 gives me every time I turn it on.

    I really don’t have many games I really want right now for any of the systems, but I am certain I will for the PS3 by the end of the year when most of the JRPGs come out.

    Now all I have to do is get a HDTV, or at least hook it up to a computer monitor.

  6. May 7, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    The main feature why I’ll get a PS3 over a 360 is because the PS3 reportedly has a very good upscaler for viewing DVDs. I’m an infrequent gamer now, playing through maybe four or five games a year. Blu-Ray and a great upscaled dvd playback are the important features for me, but I still want a 360. If I played games more often, I’d probably get the 360 first.

  7. June 5, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this web page is really nice
    and the visitors are actually sharing fastidious thoughts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

