Home > Illustrations > Quickie Sketchies – Anime or Not? A Self Discovery.

Quickie Sketchies – Anime or Not? A Self Discovery.

You know, it’s interesting what impressions you give others, even though you don’t mean to sometimes. It happens to me a lot. I think mainly due to excessive behavior. I look upon my anime collection, my video games, my complete and utter otakuness. I even draw anime. What sort of impression does that give?

Obviously the impression of an otaku, obsessed with his hobby, so much so that it narrows the mind in terms of exposure to other cultures and art. For me, this is only partly the case.

I seem to give people the impression that Anime is the only thing that I know how to do (probably because that is mostly what I draw), and that I can’t draw other styles, or “stylized realism”.

I would have to say that this is not the case.

Though admittedly, I’m not very good at drawing realistic characters, I can draw other styles. However, me being in a predominantly North American market, I need to cater to that, and diversify myself in order to be marketable.

People seem to think that I don’t know how to draw guys either.

Perhaps I’m not as good as a lot of other people, but I believe I pull it off fairly well. Obviously if I keep at it, I would become better at it as well.

You know, fans of anime who live outside of Japan have it tough. It’s a cult phenomenon that isn’t widely accepted. And as such, isn’t as explored or familiarized. I was at the library the other day, and I found a book called Manga For Dummies. You know those series, right? I’ve always thought that those “For Dummies” series were very informative, and though they never teach you the specifics, they start you off with a good basic foundation. My impressions on these series has since changed. The drawings that they had in them were very americanized Anime, if at all even recognizable as anime. It seems that it takes very little in style alterations for North Americans to consider something “anime”.

Even worse are those How To Draw series. The artwork in it is absolutely appauling (though there have been a few that were good). For those fans that desperately seek acceptance for their otakuism, I understand your pain. I believe it’s one of the reasons why some of the self-proclaimed anime fans are so big on mainstream Jump anime such as Naruto and Dragonball Z, yet have never in their life heard of Sharon Apple.

So then, what is considered “still too anime”?

It seems that even this would be considered very anime, sadly.

My take on this now is that I need to expand my views a bit more, and learn to adapt my style with the North American style. Fusion is one thing, abandoning the anime style is another thing. However, if done right, I think it can raise a pretty attractive style that appeals to both North American and Asian. Considering that I experiment with so many different Anime styles, exploring realism and incorporating a “Japanese/Asian Influence” into the style should be challenging and fun.

Categories: Illustrations Tags: , , , , ,
  1. Kin
    April 28, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    As a semi-otaku myself (I am not into as much anime so I can’t call myself an otaku) I have to agree that like any other stereotype, being an otaku is pretty hard. I will admit, during high school I drew mostly stylized art with heavy anime influences as a hobby and stopped once I went to college taking “fine arts”. After that, to sort of prove myself, I haven’t drawn in the anime style since and that was about 5 years ago. Only till now I have slowly started to draw anime again and I have lost all my anime style sense.

    What people don’t really think of is that anime are just japanese cartoons. Anime comes in many styles so it is hard to pinpoint one single style as anime. With that, people who don’t really understand anime start to stereotype it without understanding it. Without understanding there is no way of truly imitating the styles themselves. There were many really crappy american cartoons in japanese style made. (Kappa Mikey anyone?)
    They are getting better though over time.

    I think to be not too anime is to be not anime at all, anything that has any resemblance to anime will still be considered anime to many people. As for your drawings, I would not necesarily say that they are anime, but they are anime influenced. That is just me though, I see them more as slightly stylized realism more than anything else.

    Also I have a small secret, I own some of those “How to draw manga” books.

  2. April 29, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I was told that even my more realistic drawings I tend to make the eyes/head a tiny bit bigger LOL And I hate drawing noses (absolutely hate it) πŸ˜› but like you, I do draw realistic stuff but I enjoy anime stuff more, so people tend to think I only draw anime-ish stuff.

    But I think what’s more important is to have an open mind ourselves to improve than to mind too much of what others say ^^!

  3. May 2, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Hi, I just ran into your website from another anime blog, and I love your artwork! The lighting in the portraits is really great. And I don’t think people’s first thought would be “anime” when they see them, they’re a little more artsy and not as cute/simple as what (mainstream) people think about anime. (Plus, superficially, people might think anime needs bright colors?) An anime fan might think the art is influenced by anime, but really “genres” are arbitrary so you can always make up a new name for your type of art hehe!

  4. Danielle
    October 8, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Your drawings are just perfect, all of them! I wish I could draw like that. I draw, but my drawings are not that perfect like yours.
    The first one, it’s really beautiful! Good job!

  5. kyeanne
    October 9, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    OMG your drawings are totally awsm like seriousley, I can draw pretty good like better than all of my friends, but your drawings are wonderful i sooo wish mine wer that perfect, thanks for the inspiation, xoxo mwa mwa

  6. Tay
    October 13, 2008 at 6:26 am

    I think your like a GREATT drawer.. can you do like an anime book.
    i love those and yours would prolly be interesting to me πŸ˜€

    β™₯

  7. ria1987
    November 9, 2008 at 9:21 am

    omg! that’s awesome art actually!
    those are quick sketches too! dear me, I wish I could draw like that ><
    takes me ages to draw something realism with a decent touch to it.

  8. May 7, 2009 at 8:52 am

    First of all I enjoy the third picture the best – the ‘cute’ one

    I love to draw and for me there’s nothing better to draw then a subject that catches my attention. I’d rather draw a gorgeous gal then some stupid puppy. Unfortunately I do not have the means to show my work but it’s easy to describe, just using a number two and a graphite pencil my drawings look like black & white photographs. I use the graphite to make the picture stand out, it really adds that three-dimentional effect. Knowing how to shade is extremely important. While working on any picture it seems to me that I would have serious problems with textures, light, patterns and such but I take my time, when it all comes together I surprise myself, and when I do I know that my clients will be knocked off their feet. Everyone’s happy.

    You say that ‘drawing’ people is not your strong-suit. Stop being modest and take it for what’s it’s worth, don’t tell me that you don’t like the attention after you complete a project but the best thing is personal satisfaction.

    There’s always room for improvement – for the accomplished artist.

  9. alrey navarro
    March 21, 2010 at 6:15 am

    ok very good

  10. alrey navarro
    March 21, 2010 at 6:18 am

    it is a watercolor?

  11. Dalnoix
    June 25, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I draw alot anime and none anime but I can do it only with a pencil never on a computer.

  12. alisterheel
    July 5, 2010 at 9:32 am

    really cool, what is it exactly – pencil, pen, computer, paint…?
    i’m going to try to copy one and see if i can get that light effect like you which i doubt…..thanks

  13. DesoveDeAspereza
    July 29, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    very unique style of drawing manga(anime)
    your pictures are very nice
    just out of curiosity, what do you use to draw?

  14. alexx
    July 31, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    well, this how i also draw most of my drawing are Anime influenced an now i have made up a style name for it its realistic anime . you incorporate anime with realist-ism. i love it.

  15. Kaykat101
    October 23, 2010 at 6:09 am

    Awesome

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

