Home > video games > I *heart* Vieras

I *heart* Vieras

Sometimes, you’re hooked on figures, other times, you do something else like play video games. I’ve gotten a pile of video game that I have yet to play which date back to 1999! (not surprisingly, this was also when I met my girlfriend who is now my wife). I had purchased Final Fantasy XII when it was first released. The special edition version from EB games/Gamestop that had the bonus DVD and cool metal case. I even bought the special edition strategy guide I’m so hardcore!

So why is it that only now that I start playing FFXII, a Playstation 2 game, on my Playstation3? Backlog.

I’ve always had a fondness for Ivalice, ever since it was first introduced in Vagrant Story, and later expanded on in Final Fantasy Tactics. The latest expansion really opens up what the universe of Ivalice is : A Star Wars Rip-off. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy it though. I’m not very far into the game – about maybe 8 hours. I hear that this can take upwards to 150+ hours to finish if I do all the sidequests. I guess that’s alright, considering I spent way over 300+ hours on Guild Wars.

I quite like the battle system in FFXII. After just finishing Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Ring of Fates (yes, that’s the whole title) for DS, it’s a good change of pace while still remaining fresh and exciting.

So that’s my excuse for lack of posting this short little while. But hey, at least I got the opportunity to sketch a Viera!

Enjoy the video of FFXII with Star Wars audio!

  1. April 11, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I don’t really like the viera tho, I don’t know why =\

    I still haven’t finished my FF12, I don’t like the story line 😦

  2. Kin
    April 11, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    FF12 isn’t my favorite FF and it became a chore to finish. I definitely love the art style of the game as well as finding out Vaan’s abs were painted on. My whole gripe with that game was the battle system in how it was in real time, but not really actually in real time. But to each it’s own we all have different tastes.

    I’ll be looking forward to FFTA2 when it comes out because I had so much fun with FFTA.

  3. April 12, 2008 at 9:04 am

    @ ron : I would say the Viera are… interesting. They have a certain mystery about them, and they seem to be a single-gender race from what I can tell so far. Fran is interesting too. I love the voice over for her – she sounds gentle, yet assertive. Actually when I first heard her voice, it reminded me of the voice actress from “The Last Unicorn”.

    When I first started playing FFXII last year, I felt the storyline was very pompus, and the people were pompus, but putting that aside, I’m quite enjoying it. The epicness is sometimes ridiculously funny.

    @ kin : I’ll have to see what you mean later in terms of it being a chore to finish. The “painted” art style to the characters look quite amazing – almost like a Hyung Tae Kim illustration. Quite cool.

    Actually, when it comes to the battle system, I quite like it. It’s a refreshing departure from regular FF games, and it almost feels like a MMO. Upon further reflection, it seems the reason I’m so hooked on FFXII right now is because of how much it resembled Knights of the Old Republic (a bioware Star Wars game). I was hooked on that game as well.

    You liked FFTA?! That’s terrible! 😛 FFTA is such a shallow departure from the deep and detailed world of Ivalice in the original FFT! I think that when an RPG involves religion an politics, it really brings that world to life. FFTA was nothing but a fairytale compared to FFT.

  4. April 12, 2008 at 10:06 am

    hmm I don’t like fran voice tho.. I love Ashe 😀

    so far I’ve played around 50 hours, and dropped the game because the story didn’t interest me =\ maybe later in the future I will finish this game..

  5. April 12, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    When I first saw the game and the characters, I was all about Ashe too, until I realized she’s the generic Rinoa/Garnet/Yuna/Aeris/Terra/Rosa archetype, I was no longer that into her. She’s pretty much like Princess Leia when you’re first introduced to Ashe.

    Fran is quite unique in my opinion, and after playing so many Final Fantasy games, it’s quite refreshing. She has attributes that make her unique:

    1. She’s not human, yet has (sexy) humanoid characteristics
    2. She’s from an all-female race (gotta love that)
    3. Bunny ears. And bunny-like face. They did well in capturing the subtilities of a bunny without it looking freakish.
    4. She’s like an elf, very “one with nature”.
    5. She carries both delicate grace and elegance, while also carrying assertiveness, confidence and strength – complementary attributes.

    I dropped FFX after about 50 hrs too and got bored. I didn’t pick it up again until almost a year later to finish it off. When I got FFX-2 though, I was hooked on it. The story was ok, but the character development and atmosphere was a lot more lighthearted and fun, unlike boring and melancholic FFX.

  6. shino
    April 14, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Heh, I thought Ivalice was like a star wars/LotR spoof when I first played FF12. The storyline seemed ok to me but as I told you, I dropped it simply because of the leveling up system. Pretty graphics and all are really nice, but I find that game companies tend to focus more on eye candy these days rather than the actual content. Heck if I wanted a damned movie, I would go out and watch one, not play it. Stuff like Rings of Power on the Genesis might look very dated right now, but if given a choice right now, I’d rather play RoP over FF12 sadly.

  7. April 15, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I got about 20 or more hours into FFXII, but somehow I just suddenly stopped :\
    I’m not a fan of the license board, and the active battle system though fresh for the FF series, is really not my thing. Despite that, I’d still like to give it another whirl and try to finish it. Maybe FFX-2 too, which I also didn’t get very far in lol…

    I do agree with you on *heart*’ing Vieras lol. Something about FF anthropomorphic female characters that I enjoy. Maybe it’s the cute characteristics of the animals they resemble (rabbits for Viera and cats for Mithra in FFXI), or maybe that they seem to tend to dress in non-movement-restricting clothing lol.

  8. April 16, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    @ Shino : it’s too bad Ivalice seems to have turned Star Wars. They could have avoided all the space ships and it would have been a perfect “This is Final Fantasy should be” unique world. I used to be on the whole “I wanna play a game, not watch a movie!” bandwagon, but have since switched gears and have accepted it for what it is. It’s more fun that way. To each his own though, and I can understand why you feel that way.

    @ suneo : Like Shino, I’m also not a fan of the license board. They could have tweaked it better – and it turns out that in FFXII International, they did – 12 unique job boards based on zodiacs, as well as English VA option (which means FFXII US could have been dual audio if they wanted). I’ve always been a fan of FF games, but FFX was too dry and boring. FFX-2 was a much more light-hearted change of pace. And playing an all female cast? Sign me up!

  9. April 16, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I haven’t played FFX yet, got the game, but haven’t really played it yet ._.

    I got the feeling that FFXII is trying to introduce MMORPG feeling by having license board, tanking, etc..

    I need to get FFX-2 =\

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

