Home > News I Find Interesting, video games > Darth Vader and Yoda in Soul Calibur 4?!

Darth Vader and Yoda in Soul Calibur 4?!

The weirdest news today, is that Darth Vader and Yoda will be appearing in Soul Calibur 4. It’s so weird and illogical, but yet is a welcome addition, as it seems the response is generally shock but still positive on the NeoGaf forums.

As you know, I’m an avid Soul Calibur fan. Though I’m not as big of a Star Wars fan, the thing I liked most about Knights of the Old Republic was swinging that light saber around and the cool sound it made. Being able to play as a Jedi, and Darth Vader at that, is just too cool, even if it did seem entirely out of place. I’m sure many people are asking “Why Star Wars and not Dante?” No idea, but who knows? Namco Bandai could be pulling a Smash Bros. on us and introduce even more characters as we get closer to the release date. This is still a very welcoming surprise though! Soul Calibur 4 will be released on Playstation 3 and Xbox 360. I own a PS3, so if you would like to challenge me online, don’t forget that.

  1. shinohai
    January 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Not too much of a fighting-game fan as I’m sure you know, though I must say having Darth Vader is a welcome addition, not too sure about Yoda though, I still remember the laughs (somehow it happened) in the theaters when Yoda started fighting and became hyper-super ball bouncey-like. But if Yoda was actually immune to normal attacks in the game and the only way to hit him is via crouching attacks, that would be interesting. Heh.

    I thought the way Smash Bros was handled was pretty cool, with fans lapping up every tidbit released little by little. Certainly generated no small amount of buzz considering even I have heard of it through the grapevine. I hope you’ll enjoy SC4 when released, who knows? I just might drop by and give you a pounding by a beginner. xP

  2. January 10, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    heh dude, I would totally welcome a good fight from anybody that will play Soul Calibur with me. Adding Star Wars characters to me is definitely just a bonus on something that is already good. Looks like Darth Vader is exclusive to the PS3, while Yoda is exclusive to the Xbox 360. Cuz you know… the PS3 is black and the 360 is like… white and green.

    It would be interesting with Yoda. I’m assuming that his “positioning” would be always in crouch mode, so to speak. Standing vertical attacks should work then. Horizontal attacks, which are how a lot of moves open to other combos, might be a problem.

    In order for me to appreciate Yoda, he would have to move at least as fast as the movie version of him. Otherwise, it’s pointless. It was highly entertaining to see Yoda fight in the movie for sure. lolz. That cane he carries is definitely just for show.

    I certainly hope Namco Bandai pulls a Smash Bros marketing ploy on us. I would love to see more characters in there. Smash Bros did the same thing when they first revealed Solid Snake to get everyone’s attention.

  3. January 14, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    hehe I will try to have a game with you as soon as I get the game 😀

  4. January 14, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    @ ron : you’re on, Ron! I’ll add you into my friends list now. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

